7th Annual South Lake Business Awards

Signature Awards Nomination Categories

2024 Signature Awards Nomination

Citizen of the Year Award:
The South Lake Chamber’s Citizen of the Year Award is among the most respected in Central Florida. This annual award goes to a South Lake resident who has displayed extraordinary dedication to our community. Past recipients read like a Who’s Who and include Olympic medalist, physician, and motivational speaker Dr. Dot Richardson, retired South Lake Hospital CEO Leslie Longacre, and civic activist Michael Conley, for whom the hospice center is named.

This prestigious award is open to any South Lake resident. Chamber membership is not required for the person making the nomination nor for the individual being nominated.

  • The nominee must meet these requirements:
    Current resident of South Lake County.
  • Made a substantial contribution that benefited the community.
  • Actively involved in at least two community organizations.
  • Perform community service on a voluntary basis, above and beyond what may be required as part of their employment.

Please note: Current members of the Chamber’s Board of Directors are not eligible during their term in office.

Citizen of the Year Previous Recipients Include:

  • 2023 Kay Simpson
  • 2022 Michelle Michnoff
  • 2020 Charles Broadway
  • 2019 Dr. Kasey Kesselring
  • 2018 John Moore

Heritage Award:
The Heritage Award recognizes businesses or organizations that have shown continued contributions to the business community. The nominee must have been active in the community for 25 years or more.

Heritage Award Previous Recipients Include:

  • 2023 Lake Catherine Farms
  • 2022 City of Groveland
  • 2020 Pittman Jewelers
  • 2019 Lake Apopka Natural Gas
  • 2018 Cathy Kyle

Oakley Seaver Special Service Award:
Named after a beloved South Lake figure who dedicated his life to community service, the Oakley Seaver Special Service Award recognizes a nonprofit business, club, organization, educational institution, or healthcare facility that has contributed significantly to the community and created a lasting impact or benefit.

Oakley Seaver Award Previous Recipients Include:

  • 2023 Cornerstone Hospice & Palliative
  • 2022 Brian Broadway – Find, Feed & Restore
  • 2020 Dr. Jamin Brahmbhatt
  • 2019 Faith Neighborhood Center
  • 2018 US Naval Sea Cadets – Clermont Battalion