SECO Energy celebrated its “Just Business” 83rd Annual Meeting of the Membership on Thursday, March 25. Because of the continuing COVID-cautious environment and the need to limit large gatherings, the not-for-profit cooperative held the Just Business Meeting virtually.

Members tuned in via Facebook live, YouTube and live stream to watch the cooperative’s second virtual Annual Meeting. Board President and District 4 Trustee Richard Dennison called the Meeting to order and closed the voting platform at 4:30 p.m. SECO’s VP of Corporate Communications and Energy Services Kathryn Gloria led the invocation and asked the virtual audience to join her in the Pledge of Allegiance and the National Anthem. Ms. Gloria introduced the Trustees and welcomed District 9 Trustee-elect Morgan Hatfield, who began her duties at the Trustees’ Meeting on Monday, March 29. Ms. Gloria also introduced CEO Jim Duncan, Cooperative Attorney Scott Gerken and Executive Administrator to the CEO and Board Nora Brown, who served as Recording Secretary during the Meeting. Board Secretary/Treasurer and District 3 Trustee Gerald Anderson certified the Official Annual Meeting Notice that was mailed to all cooperative members per the terms of the Bylaws.

Mr. Dennison began his President’s Report by welcoming the virtual audience. He thanked the members who voted electronically, in person, by phone or by mail, and announced that SECO achieved a quorum by virtue of votes cast on Annual Meeting business. Mr. Dennison stated, “Florida cooperatives are required by statute to hold an Annual Meeting and must achieve a quorum to conduct official business. I am happy to announce that member voting participation has indeed helped us achieve a quorum this year. Thank you so much to all who cast a vote this year.”

Following the President’s Report, CEO Jim Duncan began his CEO Report. Mr. Duncan welcomed the virtual audience, performed the traditional military salute and first responders’ recognition. He acknowledged the Board of Trustees’ service and employees’ hard work and dedication to members.

Mr. Duncan also formally announced his plan to retire as CEO. Duncan stated, “Today is bittersweet for me. Earlier this year, I conveyed to the Board my plan to retire from SECO Energy in January 2022. That making the 83rd Annual Meeting my last as CEO. The decision to retire was a difficult and emotional one. My wife Connie and I have been married for 53 years, and we are looking forward to more vacations, scuba diving and family time with our sons and grandchildren.”

CEO Duncan’s state of the company address included an overview of his 42-year SECO career, the cooperative’s financial health, significant meter growth and reliability improvements during his tenure as CEO. Duncan stated, “Much has changed during my three decades as CEO. If you’ve been a member for decades, you may remember the days when our unflattering but true moniker ‘Sometimes Sumter’ was coined. Not only was our reliability marginal, but our rates were also some of the highest in the state. During my tenure as CEO, we dramatically improved service reliability through increased investments in our electric infrastructure and a strengthened vegetation management program.”

Cooperative Attorney Scott Gerken certified the 2021 Annual Meeting voting results. In total, 4,576 members voted on 2021 Annual Meeting business. As to the 2021 Bylaws Revision: 4,263 members voted “Yes,” 93 members voted “No,” and 220 members abstained. As to the 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes approval: 4,368 members voted “Yes,” 7 members voted “No,” and 201 members abstained. Mr. Gerken announced, “The membership clearly approves the 2021 Bylaws Revision and 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes.”

SECO Energy established a special phone number, email address and social media presence for the Virtual Annual Meeting. A panel of SECO employees interacted with members who posed questions and comments that were read and answered during the meeting by CEO Jim Duncan.

Mr. Duncan concluded the Virtual Annual Meeting by saying, “I appreciate you joining us and participating in the cooperative governance process.” He reminded members to stay tuned for the live prize drawing.

The meeting ended with the announcement of prize winners. All members who voted were entered into the random drawing for 100 prizes. Russell Rager from Tavares won the 2011 GMC Canyon 4X4 Extended Cab. A commercial member under The Stardust Collection account from Lake Panasoffkee won the golf cart that was provided at cost by The Villages Golf Cars. The four $1,000 winners are James Wilson from The Villages, Christine Hankla from The Villages, Kenneth A. Merritt from Center Hill and Leonard J. George from The Villages. Other prizes including Apple TVs, Instapots, toolsets, Amazon Fire tablets and airfryers will be shipped directly to winners. SECO will arrange for delivery of grand prizes. A complete list of winners is posted at

“Like” SECO’s Facebook page and “follow” @SECOEnergy on Twitter for news releases and cooperative updates. If you missed the virtual meeting, visit>Your Co-op>Annual Meeting to view the video.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed