Last week the South Lake Chamber of Commerce and Pig on the Pond/Project Scholars, hosted 1600 teachers from South Lake County for the 29th Annual Teacher Appreciation Breakfast presented by CEMEX and Nerds on Site. On Monday, August 5 Middle and High School teachers attended and on Tuesday, August 6 our Elementary School and Private School teachers attended. Through the generosity of our business community, each teacher left the breakfast with a goody bag filled with more than $100 worth of giveaways and many teachers walked away with door prizes donated by Chamber members.

Several schools were honored throughout the breakfast as well. South Lake High School, East Ridge Middle School and Minneola Charter were winners of the annual spirit award sponsored by Addition Financial and Office Depot. East Ridge High School, Cecil E. Gray Middle School, Lost Lake Elementary and Mascotte Charter were the recipients of a $1,500 scholarship from Sylvan Learning Center that can be given to a student of their choosing. Finally, Lake Minneola High School, East Ridge Middle School and Pine Ridge Elementary School were the recipients of a $2,000 award from the South Lake Chamber of Commerce and Pig on the Pond/Project Scholars. This money can be used at the discretion of the administration and in the previous years this has been used for updates to teachers lounges, school signage and teacher appreciation week.

Lake County School Superintendent Diane Kornegay and Assistant Superintendent of Teaching, Learning and Leadership for Lake County Schools, Dr. Emily Weiskopf, welcomed teachers back and gave them words of encouragement for the year ahead as the county strives to attain an A rating.

The teachers were also entertained by choirs from South Lake High School and Lake Minneola High School. Both schools performed the national anthem as well as additional musical selections.

Events like these would not be possible without our volunteers, including committee co-chairs Michelle Michnoff and Cheryl Fishel, as well as committee members, Kim Couch, Stephen Elmore, Debbie Flora, Amanda Hansen, Leesa Hodges, Tania Thollebeke, Stephanie Walter, Dallis Wehr and Nancy Wilkins.

For a full listing of our sponsors that contributed to our 29th Annual Teacher Appreciation Breakfast, please visit the event page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed